Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Le blog d' IMAGE&POESIE

BIRDS, tableau d' EAGAN BADEEU, Maldives - Poem by AERONWY THOMAS, UK

2 Juin 2009, 09:57am

Publié par image.poésie

birds.jpg
(copyright de l'artiste)

 

LIEN: www.keykay.blogspot.com

TELESCOPE

 

Look out to sea:

a couple of swimmers

battling the waves.

I see a liner

Sending out flares,

A rubber dinghy

Dolphin shaped

Caught in nets

About to sink

Out to sea.

 

The trick is to turn

The telescope,

An inverted

Periscope,

Into the waters

To see

A mermaid

Struggling,

Caught in seaweed

At the bottom

Of the ocean,

Giant clams

Snapping

Crabs

Rapping.

 

I put aside

My telescope

And see

A rhinoceros

Approaching the shore

With heavy strokes.

I step into the water

Get hold of his horns

And in one twisting move

Swing him towards

The open sea.

In dreams you are as strong

As you choose to be.

 

I take my telescope.

Now let’s see,

Thought as much,

He’s taken the load:

Swimmers, passengers

Nets and mermaid

On his back

And rides on gentle waves

Towards me

On the shore

Where I wait

In vain

To welcome them

 

My scope

Fallen on the floor

Of my torn dream.

 

 

                                           AERONWY  THOMAS